Distinguished Alumni Awards

W. W. Patty Distinguished Alumni Award
Guy Parcel - 2003

Dr. Guy Parcel, is Executive Dean and John P. McGovern Professor in Health Promotion at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Public Health. He also serves as professor of behavioral sciences at the UT School of Public Health and professor of pediatrics at the UT-Houston Medical School. He has directed NIH- and CDC-funded research projects to develop and evaluate programs to address sexual risk behavior in adolescents, diet and physical activity in children, smoking prevention in adolescents, and self-management of childhood chronic diseases including asthma and cystic fibrosis.

Guy is currently principal investigator of Healthy Passages, a community-based longitudinal study of adolescent health funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). From 1991-98 he was principal investigator of an evaluation of the Safer Choices program, a school-based intervention program to reduce behaviors that result in HIV/STD infection, funded by the CDC. This effective program is now available to high schools nationwide. He was principal investigator of the 1991-94 nationwide multi-center Child and Adolescent Trial for Cardio-vascular Health funded by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. This effective program includes health education, physical education, school food service, and parent involvement. The CATCH program has been adopted by elementary schools nationwide including over 1,250 elementary schools in Texas, which equals access to over 600,000 children in the state of Texas. 

Guy received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in health education at Indiana University and his PhD at Pennsylvania State University with a major in health education and a minor in child development and family relations. He has authored or co-authored numerous scientific papers and book chapters over the past 30 years. In 1990 he received the American School Health Association’s William A. Howe Award for outstanding contributions and distinguished service in school health.