Davies, Jones and Mosely Fellowship

The Davies, Jones and Mosely Fellowship is awarded to graduate students in the School of Public Health who are pursuing a degree in the either the Recreation or Adapted Physical Education. The fellowship rotates between the Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Studies and the Department of Kinesiology each year.

This scholarship was established by Dr. Kenneth Mosely who received his BS from Morgan State University in 1970, a MS from Kansas State University in 1973, and a doctorate in Physical Education from Indiana University in 1976. Dr. Mosely created the Davies, Jones and Mosely Scholarship to memorialize Dr. Evelyn Davies and Dr. Ralph Waldo Emerson Jones, Jr. Both individuals played a key role in his life. Dr. Jones received his undergraduate and graduate degrees from Indiana University School of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (now named the School of Public Health) in 1960 and 1961. Dr. Davies was an advisor and professor and served as Dr. Mosely’s advisor and a key member of his dissertation committee. She also employed him as graduate teaching assistant for the Adapted Physical Education Program and was a pioneer educator in the field of adapted physical education.