James W. Crowe Scholarship

The James W. Crowe Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate or graduate students admitted into the Department of Applied Health Science who are majoring in occupational safety/safety management, public health, or health education and preference given to those with financial need.

Dr. Crowe, a committed and devoted faculty member, joined Indiana University in 1966 and remained until his retirement in 2000. After decades of teaching, he was appointed chair of the Department of Applied Health Science, a capacity in which he served from 1992 until 1999. Under his leadership, the department developed new curricula that led to a #1 national ranking for its doctoral program. Dr. Crowe’s hard work and dedication to the students of Indiana University helped expand course offerings in the area of first aid and emergency care and provided students with beneficial work experience.